Welcome to our blog!

napotpickratmures.alsupvestraclimodukbestlicenttacta.co

think, that you commit error. suggest..

Menu

Category: DEFAULT


Jazz concerts that pay tribute to the overall repertoire of a particular artist are not uncommon, but jazz concerts that pay tribute to one album specifically aren't very plentiful. Kenya Revisited doesn't focus on other albums in Machito 's sizable catalog, just Kenya , which is performed in its entirety.

The results tend to be somewhat predictable, but in an enjoyable way, and even though the new versions generally aren't radical departures from the original arrangements, they aren't exact replicas either.

On "Oyeme," for example, the chord progressions of John Coltrane 's "Giant Steps" are incorporated -- which is taking a slight liberty with "Oyeme," because even though Coltrane was well known in , he didn't record "Giant Steps" until Sanabria re-creates "Tururato" as Afro-Cuban jazz meets soul-jazz, and it works.

So even though Kenya Revisited is generally faithful to the spirit of Latin hard bop as it existed in the '50s and '60s, no one can accuse this concert of being a note-for-note re-creation of Machito 's Kenya album. Bottom line: although Kenya Revisited doesn't reinvent the wheel, it documents a solid New York City concert that fans of classic big-band Afro-Cuban jazz will appreciate. AllMusic relies heavily on JavaScript.

Machito went on to reincarnate himself several times until his passing in the Throughout he continued to build on his strengths of visceral energy, a deeply-felt soul that rose in Africa and danced inside Machito with all of the resident spirits that made him the force that he became. Small wonder then that his music — no matter when in his career he produced it — has always come to be regarded as cornerstones in the history of the Americas.

Kenya is no exception. It bears listening over and over again as its musical stories come to life in ways that continue to surprise even today. He was raised in Havana alongside the singer Graciela, his foster sister.

He made numerous recordings from the s to the s, many with Graciela as singer. In a lifetime career in the music business, Machito would have over fifty albums to his credit.

Reset your password Click the eye to show your password. Membership has its privileges. Learn more. All About Jazz musician pages are maintained by musicians, publicists and trusted members like you.

Tell us why you would like to improve the Machito musician page. Please Sign Up or Sign In to send your inquiry. Claim Page Machito Biography Articles News Machito and his Afro Cubans was an absolute powerhouse unit that lay the foundation for Latin Jazz, a seminal force in the original fusion of Cuban clave rhythms and the melodies and harmonies of jazz. Read more. Show less. Recent Releases. Chacharicha Unknown label buy. Kenya buy.

Afro-Cuban Jazz - The Roulette Jazz buy. Machito and his Salsa Thursday 9 July Friday 10 July Saturday 11 July Sunday 12 July Monday 13 July Tuesday 14 July Wednesday 15 July Thursday 16 July Friday 17 July Saturday 18 July Sunday 19 July Monday 20 July Tuesday 21 July Wednesday 22 July Thursday 23 July Friday 24 July Saturday 25 July Sunday 26 July Monday 27 July Tuesday 28 July Wednesday 29 July Thursday 30 July Friday 31 July Saturday 1 August Sunday 2 August Monday 3 August Tuesday 4 August Wednesday 5 August Thursday 6 August Friday 7 August Saturday 8 August Sunday 9 August Monday 10 August Tuesday 11 August Wednesday 12 August Thursday 13 August Friday 14 August Saturday 15 August Sunday 16 August Monday 17 August Tuesday 18 August Wednesday 19 August Thursday 20 August Friday 21 August Saturday 22 August Sunday 23 August Monday 24 August Tuesday 25 August Wednesday 26 August Thursday 27 August Friday 28 August Saturday 29 August Sunday 30 August

Apr 24,  · Explore releases from Machito at Discogs. Shop for Vinyl, CDs and more from Machito at the Discogs Marketplace. Explore. Discover Machito: Kenya (Afro-Cuban Jazz) (Album) 3 versions: Versailles (2) Afro Cuban Jazz. Made some fantastic records and was filling dance floors in New York when most of us weren't even born.

Sorry!No related Post.

oohani_s comments
  1. First time on CD! napotpickratmures.alsupvestraclimodukbestlicenttacta.co Frank Raul Grillo, also known as Machito, was the leader of The Afro-Cubans, a fiery definitive Latin-jazz big band/5(11).
  2. Apr 20,  · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Machito* - Kenya (Afro Cuban Jazz) at Discogs. Complete your Machito* collection/5(61).
  3. In this album, Machito has combined all the elements needed in bringing the true meaning of Afro-Cuban jazz music to the listener. Machito, his musical director Mario Bauza, Rene Hernandez and A. K. Salim who along with Mr Bauza composed and arranged this music, define it this way: 'Afro-Cuban rhythm differs from other rhythms in that instead of the usual drums /5(11).
  4. Label: Roulette Jazz - 5 2 1 • Format: CD Album, Reissue • Country: Europe • Genre: Jazz • Style: Afro-Cuban Jazz Machito - Kenya (Afro-Cuban Jazz) (, CD) | Discogs Explore3/5(2).
  5. In these two albums, Machito combined all the elements needed to bring the true meaning of Afro-Cuban jazz music to the listener. Kenya is a collection of original tunes composed by A.K. Salim, and by pianist René Hernández along with Mario Bauzá the band s musical director/5(4).
  6. Classic Afro-Cuban jazz albums are not so plentiful that any can escape being called "essential." By the idiom had lost its original spontaneity and excitement, but new life had come from the recording possibilities of high-fidelity stereo. Kenya belongs to the style typified by Tito Puente's great work for Victor in this period. There are colorful African masks on the 6/
  7. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Afro Cuban Jazz Kenya on Discogs. Label: Versailles (2) - STDX • Series: Serie Roulette Deluxe • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Reissue, Mono • Country: France • Genre: Jazz • Style: Afro-Cuban Jazz.
  8. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Kenya on Discogs. Label: Roulette - SR • Series: Birdland Series • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Stereo • Country: US • Genre: Jazz • Style: Afro-Cuban Jazz4/5(2).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *